Since 1986, the Fondation pour lıArchitecture has observed, questioned and shared with others its interest in architecture, the city and its living environment. Observing, with curiosity and passion, but without being influenced either by fashion or generally accepted ideas. Questioning, and debating, because beyond the forms and images, there are also technical, ethical and political challenges. Sharing with others, because that is the fundamental role of a public place ­ a meeting place and a forum for citizens.

Philippe Rotthier
Founder

 
 
A meeting place, a place for reflection anddiscussion, the Fondation pour lıArchitecture, created in 1986 on the initiative of the architect Philippe Rotthier, plays a major role in the dissemination of architectural culture in Belgium. The building which is home to the Foundation was extended first of all in 1990, through the development of a new exhibition area, the ³gallery², and in 2000 the Fondation integrated the International Centre for Urbanism, Architecture and Landscape (CIVA) in a new architectural complex covering 7000 square meters. The new institutional framework and the development of the architectural scene have led the Fondation pour lıArchitecture to renew its ambitions and refocus its actions.

Today, the Fondation expresses itself mainly through major exhibitions, organised in partnership with the Archives dıArchitecture Moderne. The aim of these specially created exhibitions is to allow a wide audience to appreciate figures and aspects of Belgian architecture which are, as yet, relatively unknown. These events are not simply retrospectives or specialised exhibitions, they also combine in a dynamic, interactive way architectural heritage and contemporary creation. As it has always done, the Fondation pour lıArchitecture continues to adopt an original, questioning, exploratory approach, which remains unaffected by fashionable phenomena.


Alongside these major events, the Fondation pursues, both within the CIVA and outside its walls, its activities in the area of architectural creation and news: competitions, international meetings, events, publications, etc. It also organises the triennial Philippe Rotthier European Prize for Architecture, created in 1982, which today enjoys an international reputation.

Maurice Culot
President

L'architecture, la ville, le cadre de vie, c'est ce que la Fondation pour l'Architecture regarde, questionne et fait partager depuis 1986. Regarder, avec curiosité et avec passion, mais sans sacrifier aux modes ni aux idées reçues. Questionner, et débattre, parce qu'au-delà des formes et des images, les enjeux sont aussi techniques, éthiques et politiques. Faire partager, parce que tel est avant tout le sens d'un lieu public -un lieu de rencontre, d'échange et de citoyenneté.

Philippe Rotthier
Fondateur

 

Lieu de rencontre, de réflexion et de débats créé en 1986 à l’initiative de l’architecte Philippe Rotthier, la Fondation pour l’Architecture joue un rôle majeur dans la diffusion de la culture architecturale en Belgique. Agrandie une première fois en 1990 par l’aménagement d’un nouvel espace d’exposition, la "galerie", la Fondation a intégré en l’an 2000 le Centre International pour la Ville, l’Architecture et le Paysage (CIVA) au cœur d’un nouvel ensemble architectural de 7000 mètres carrés. Ce nouveau cadre institutionnel et l’évolution de la scène architecturale ont amené la Fondation pour l’Architecture à renouveler ses ambitions et à recentrer ses actions.

Aujourd’hui, la Fondation s’exprime principalement à travers de grandes expositions réalisées en partenariat avec les Archives d’Architecture Moderne. Ces expositions originales ont pour objectif de faire apprécier à un large public des figures et des aspects encore peu connus de l’architecture belge. Plus que de simples rétrospectives ou d’expositions thématiques, il s’agit de manifestations qui associent d’une manière vivante et interactive mémoire et création contemporaine. Comme elle l’a toujours fait, la Fondation pour l’Architecture continue à revendiquer une approche originale, curieuse, exploratoire et indépendante des phénomènes de mode.


Parallèlement à ces grandes manifestations, la Fondation poursuit, tant au sein du CIVA qu’hors les murs, ses activités dans le domaine de la création et de l’actualité architecturales : concours, rencontres internationales, événements, publications, etc. Elle organise également le prix triennal européen Philippe Rotthier, créé en 1982, qui jouit aujourd’hui d’une audience internationale.

Maurice Culot
Président